For national security Rolls-Royce is the sole UK designer, supplier and in-service support authority for Royal Navy submarine nuclear propulsion plants. The 24 January 2025 Unity contract with the Ministry of Defence (MoD), worth approximately £9bn over eight years, combines research, design, manufacture and support for the current and planned fleet, including Dreadnought and initial SSN-AUKUS work. The announced value is not the same as current funding or recognised backlog. Civil Aerospace generated £1.57bn of underlying operating profit in H1 2026, three times Defence's £522m, while Power Systems is expanding capacity for data-centre and governmental demand.
Rolls-Royce Holdings plc designs, builds and supports safety-critical power and propulsion systems. It is not the car company. BMW owns Rolls-Royce Motor Cars. The listed group supplies large civil turbofans, combat and transport engines, naval gas turbines, Royal Navy submarine reactor plants and mtu diesel and gas engines for data centres, ships and land vehicles.
The group reports three operating divisions. Civil Aerospace supplies original-equipment (OE) Trent and Pearl engines plus long-term service agreements (LTSAs) that generally earn revenue as airlines fly. Defence supplies and supports engines for Eurofighter Typhoon, the F-35B Lightning II LiftSystem, C-130J and B-52 re-engining, as well as UK naval nuclear propulsion. Power Systems, run through Rolls-Royce Power Systems AG in Friedrichshafen, supplies mtu engines for data-centre power, ships and land vehicles.
The large-engine family, including Trent XWB, Trent 1000 and Trent 7000, and the Pearl business-aviation line sit under President Civil Aerospace Dr Rob Watson. In H1 2026 the division delivered 157 large engines and 122 business-aviation engines, for 279 OE units. Underlying revenue was £6.186bn, comprising £2.019bn OE and £4.167bn aftermarket. Underlying operating profit was £1.567bn at a 25.3% margin. Large-engine flying hours grew 4%. Large-engine maintenance, repair and overhaul (MRO) output rose 13% and refurbishments rose 35%. Full-year 2026 guidance is 550–600 OE deliveries and 1,480–1,550 shop visits, with large-engine flying hours toward the lower end of 115–120% of 2019 levels. H1 contract catch-ups contributed £497m to profit, comprising £372m of contract catch-ups and £125m of onerous provision releases. Management expects a lower H2 contribution.
Adam Riddle runs Defence and is Chairman and CEO of Rolls-Royce North America. H1 2026 underlying revenue was £2.48 billion (OE £1.13 billion; aftermarket £1.36 billion). Underlying operating profit was £522 million at a 21.0% margin, up from 15.4% in H1 2025. Order intake was £2.4 billion (book-to-bill 1.0x). Order backlog was £17.5 billion at 30 June 2026, more than three years of revenue, with order cover approaching 90% for the rest of 2026. FY 2025 Defence revenue was £4.77 billion with £689 million of underlying operating profit (14.4% margin), £5.5 billion of order intake and a £17.4 billion year-end backlog.
The company's statutory backlog measure covers firm customer orders for future products and services where customers lack a unilateral right to cancel without compensation. It is not the same as government budget authority, cash funding or a contract ceiling. Rolls-Royce does not publish a separate funded-versus-unfunded Defence backlog split.
Combat and air: EJ200 for Eurofighter Typhoon (OE visibility into the 2030s after Italian, German, Spanish and Turkish orders); the LiftSystem for the F-35B, the only short take-off and vertical landing (STOVL) fighter-jet lift technology in production; F130 for the United States Air Force B-52 re-engine (more than 600 engines expected, with altitude and operating tests completed in H1 2026); AE 2100 for C-130J and related transports; Adour and legacy RB199/Pegasus support. Future combat work includes the Global Combat Air Programme (GCAP) and the US Army MV-75 / Future Long-Range Assault Aircraft (FLRAA) propulsion system. The UK Defence Investment Plan pledged £8.6 billion into GCAP this decade; that is a programme envelope, not a Rolls-Royce contract value.
Naval and nuclear: MT30 marine gas turbines (selected in H1 2026 to power up to 11 Royal Australian Navy Mogami-class general-purpose frigates); the Naval Nuclear Propulsion Plant for Vanguard, Astute and Dreadnought classes and the opening of SSN-AUKUS. Unity (January 2025) is the largest MoD contract in company history. Group President Chris Cholerton holds executive responsibility for submarines and for Rolls-Royce SMR.
Dr Jörg Stratmann runs Rolls-Royce Power Systems AG. H1 2026 underlying revenue was £2.60 billion (OE £1.82 billion; aftermarket £780 million) with £528 million of underlying operating profit at a 20.3% margin (H1 2025: 15.3%). FY 2025 revenue was £4.89 billion with £852 million of underlying operating profit (17.4%). Growth is concentrated in power-generation OE for data-centre prime power and in governmental vehicle engines: 350 upgraded mtu Series 199 engines for Boxer, 200 compact mtu PowerPacks for Puma infantry fighting vehicles, a December 2025 order for more than 300 Leopard 2 engines and a memorandum of understanding with Polska Grupa Zbrojeniowa. Management now guides 25% power-generation OE revenue growth to 2030 and 20% governmental OE revenue growth to 2030.
Rolls-Royce SMR Limited designs a 470 megawatt pressurised-water small modular reactor. ČEZ Group's March 2025 investment deconsolidated the business. After further equity transactions, Rolls-Royce Holdings owned 57.8% at 31 December 2025. The investment is equity accounted, so SMR revenue is not consolidated into group revenue. Great British Energy – Nuclear signed a contract in April 2026 for three units at Wylfa, Anglesey. Commercial terms with ČEZ for the first of up to six Czech units also entered execution. In June 2026 Videberg Kraft selected three units for Sweden's Värö peninsula. The Swedish programme was described by the UK government as multibillion-pound, but no attributable Holdings value, final investment decision or construction notice to proceed was disclosed by 23 August 2026.
Charles Rolls and Henry Royce incorporated Rolls-Royce Limited in 1906. Aero engines became the company's strategically important business. The 1971 RB211 crisis led to nationalisation and the aerospace business returned to public ownership in 1987. The car marque was separated through the 1998–2003 BMW and Volkswagen settlement. BMW now owns Rolls-Royce Motor Cars, which is not part of Rolls-Royce Holdings plc.
Allison Engine Company in Indianapolis was acquired in 1995 and remains a US manufacturing base for AE-series military engines and F130. Rolls-Royce Holdings plc, Companies House number 07524813, became the listed parent in 2011. A 2017 deferred-prosecution settlement over bribery and a 2020 pandemic downturn that forced a rights issue and restructuring remain relevant governance and resilience history.
Portfolio changes require separate treatment. Rolls-Royce completed the sale of its Naval Propulsors business to Fairbanks Morse Defense on 1 July 2025 for £172m net cash consideration, producing a £165m net cash inflow. It completed the separate Naval Handling sale to the same buyer on 6 July 2026. Rolls-Royce retained Naval Gas Turbines and Generator Sets. Rolls-Royce SMR became an equity-accounted associate in March 2025 and the Holdings interest stood at 57.8% at 31 December 2025.
Tufan Erginbilgic arrived as Chief Executive on 1 January 2023 and ran a three-year transformation: commercial reset of LTSAs, shop-visit productivity, a simpler organisation and a capital framework that restored the dividend in 2025 after more than five years and launched the first buyback in a decade. Underlying operating profit rose from £2.46 billion in 2024 to £3.46 billion in 2025 (17.3% margin) and to £2.53 billion in H1 2026 alone (22.5% margin). Net cash was £2.14 billion at 30 June 2026. Moody’s and Fitch upgraded the credit rating to A3 and A- during H1 2026; S&P Global affirmed BBB+ and moved the outlook to positive.
The 2025–2026 national-security portfolio includes Unity, SSN-AUKUS industrialisation, Global Combat Air Programme (GCAP) engine work, B-52 F130 testing and SMR execution-stage contracts. Civil aftermarket cash and data-centre mtu demand fund much of the group's capacity expansion and capital returns.
H1 2026 underlying revenue was £11.279bn versus £9.057bn in H1 2025, a reported increase of 24.5% and 26% on the company's organic basis. Underlying operating profit was £2.534bn versus £1.733bn. Free cash flow was £1.964bn versus £1.582bn. Statutory revenue was £11.448bn, statutory operating profit was £2.418bn and statutory profit for the period was £1.615bn. FY 2025 underlying revenue was £20.059bn with £3.462bn of underlying operating profit and £3.270bn of free cash flow. The FY 2025 group order backlog was £88.1bn, up from £82.1bn.
Where the pounds came from in H1 2026:
Raised FY 2026 guidance (30 July 2026): underlying operating profit £4.7–£4.9 billion (from £4.0–£4.2 billion) and free cash flow £3.8–£4.0 billion (from £3.6–£3.8 billion). The free-cash-flow number includes a £150–200 million aerospace supply-chain cash headwind that management expects to fade by the mid-term. Mid-term (2028) targets set with FY 2025 results: underlying operating profit £4.9–£5.2 billion, operating margin 18–20%, free cash flow £5.0–£5.3 billion, return on capital 23–26%. H1 2026 return on capital was already 22.0%.
Capital returns: 2025 total dividend 9.5p (32% of underlying profit after tax). H1 2026 interim dividend 6.0p, payable September 2026. Multi-year buyback £7–£9 billion across 2026–2028, of which £2.5 billion is the 2026 tranche; £1.4 billion of that tranche was complete by the 30 July 2026 results date (£1.1 billion by 30 June). Called-up share capital fell from £1,689 million at year-end 2025 to £1,671 million at 30 June 2026 as shares were cancelled.
Capacity and execution: the company said it invested about $1bn in Indianapolis over the decade to support US defence programmes including F130 and MV-75. Power Systems is expanding capacity in Germany and at Aiken, South Carolina and Mankato, Minnesota for power-generation demand. In Civil Aerospace, H1 2026 large-engine MRO output rose 13% and factory productivity improved 9% over two years. These investments face a £150m–£200m aerospace supply-chain cash headwind in 2026 guidance.
| Published | Document / Notice | Description | Link |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3 Aug 2026 | Total Voting Rights | 8,334,235,960 ordinary shares in issue. No shares held in treasury. | View → |
| 30 Jul 2026 | H1 2026 Results RNS | Underlying UOP £2.53bn; FCF £1.96bn; FY 2026 guidance raised; interim dividend 6.0p. | View → |
| 24 Jun 2026 | NED Appointments RNS | Gretchen Watkins (1 Jul 2026) and Alessandra Genco (1 Sep 2026). | View → |
| 26 Feb 2026 | FY 2025 Results RNS | Underlying revenue £20.06bn; UOP £3.46bn; FCF £3.27bn; buyback £7–£9bn; mid-term upgrade. | View → |
| Mar 2026 | Annual Report 2025 | Strategic report, financial statements, remuneration and governance. AGM 30 April 2026. | View → |
Values below are as disclosed by the awarding body or the issuer. Ceiling, option and company-share splits are stated only where the primary source states them. Several US and classified-adjacent awards are “Undisclosed” at the contract-price level.
| Date | Awarding Body | Program / Scope | Value | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 23 Jul 2026 | Sabena technics | MissionCare flight-hour sustainment for AE 2100D3 engines on the five C-130J and five KC-130J aircraft in the French-German binational fleet, through December 2030. Rolls-Royce is a subcontracted propulsion partner under the 10-year CAROLUS support programme. | Undisclosed | Active |
| 24 Jan 2025 | UK Ministry of Defence | Unity: naval nuclear propulsion R&T, design, manufacture and in-service support (existing fleet, Dreadnought, start of SSN-AUKUS). Eight years. Largest MoD deal in company history. | approx. £9bn | Active |
| Apr 2026 | Great British Energy – Nuclear | Execution-stage contract for three SMRs at Wylfa, Anglesey. Holdings owned 57.8% of the equity-accounted SMR company at 31 December 2025. | Undisclosed at Holdings level | Execution |
| Apr 2026 | ČEZ Group (Czech Republic) | Commercial terms entered execution for the first of up to six SMRs in the Czech Republic. ČEZ is also an SMR shareholder. No Holdings-attributable backlog was disclosed. | Undisclosed | Early works |
| 15 Jun 2026 | Videberg Kraft (Sweden) | Selection of three 470 MW SMRs on the Värö peninsula near Ringhals. No final investment decision or construction notice to proceed was disclosed. | Programme described as multibillion-pound; Holdings share undisclosed | Selected |
| H1 2025 | UK Ministry of Defence and U.S. Department of Defense | Aftermarket support covering EJ200 and AE 2100. | >£1.5bn | Awarded |
| 26 Feb 2026 | EUROJET / Türkiye | EJ200 engines for Türkiye's 20-aircraft Eurofighter Typhoon fleet. Rolls-Royce is lead partner in the EUROJET consortium. | Company share Undisclosed | OE pipeline |
| 24 Sep 2021 | US Air Force | F130 Commercial Engine Replacement Program for the B-52H: 608 engines plus spares, support equipment, engineering data and sustainment. H1 2026 altitude and operating tests were complete. | $2.604bn single-award contract | Testing / integration |
| H1 2026 | Commonwealth of Australia | MT30 selected to power up to 11 Mogami-class general-purpose frigates for the Royal Australian Navy. | Undisclosed | Selected |
| H1 2026 | European land-systems primes | 350 upgraded mtu Series 199 engines for Boxer vehicles; around 200 compact mtu PowerPacks for Puma infantry fighting vehicles; services memorandum with Polska Grupa Zbrojeniowa. | Undisclosed | Ordered / MoU |
| Dec 2025 | Governmental (Power Systems) | More than 300 Leopard 2 engines. | Undisclosed | Ordered |
| 1 Jul 2025 / 6 Jul 2026 | Fairbanks Morse Defense | Separate disposals of Naval Propulsors and Naval Handling. Rolls-Royce retained Naval Gas Turbines and Generator Sets. These are portfolio transactions, not customer awards. | Propulsors £172m net cash consideration; Handling undisclosed | Closed |
Open-market purchases and plan purchases are distinguished from vestings and sell-to-cover. Long-Term Incentive Plan grants are not market purchases. Source notices: 10 August 2026 PDMR RNS, 30 July 2026 purchase and May vestings.
| Date | PDMR / PCA · Role | Type | Shares | Price | Value |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7 Aug 2026 | Birgit Behrendt · Independent NED | NED plan purchase | 72 | £15.3719 | £1,106.78 |
| 7 Aug 2026 | Wendy Mars · Independent NED | NED plan purchase | 119 | £15.3719 | £1,829.26 |
| 7 Aug 2026 | Helen McCabe · CFO | Employee plan purchase | 12 | Multiple plan prices | £186.21 total |
| 30 Jul 2026 | Dame Angela Strank · Independent NED | Open-market purchase | 1,712 | £14.4860 | £24,800.03 |
| 28 May 2026 | Tufan Erginbilgic / Helen McCabe | Vest and sell-to-cover | 7,464 / 2,884 vested; 3,516 / 1,359 sold | See RNS | Tax withholding; 3,948 / 1,525 retained |
The table reports the last-notified interests disclosed in the FY 2025 annual report. It is not a real-time beneficial-ownership register. The company reported no new substantial-shareholder notifications between 1 January 2026 and the annual report approval date. Later TR-1 notices, if any, supersede these figures. The UK Special Share remains a control constraint tied to the national interest.
| Notification | Holder | Threshold Event | Voting Rights | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY 2025 AR | BlackRock, Inc. | Last-notified substantial interest | 476,330,141 · 5.65% | Annual report → |
| FY 2025 AR | Capital Group Companies, Inc. | Last-notified substantial interest | 427,042,722 · 5.07% | Annual report → |
Defense Briefing analysis: Rolls-Royce combines a large civil-engine aftermarket with a sole-source UK submarine-reactor role, a growing data-centre power business and a 57.8% interest in an equity-accounted SMR developer. H1 2026 underlying operating margin reached 22.5%, Defence margin reached 21.0% and net cash reached £2.136bn. Those results support the upgraded guidance, but £497m of H1 Civil contract catch-ups will not automatically recur. Unity, F130, GCAP, MT30 and mtu land-systems work provide longer-cycle defence demand. SMR selections are not the same as funded construction.
Four measures warrant attention through FY 2026 and 2027. First, H1 gross contractual margin improvements of £574m will not recur automatically. Second, management guides large-engine flying hours toward the lower end of 115–120% of 2019 levels. Third, the 21.0% H1 Defence margin must be tested against the 14.4% FY 2025 outcome. Fourth, the UK and Czech contracts generate revenue and profit at Rolls-Royce SMR, but Holdings does not consolidate those amounts.
National-security implication: Rolls-Royce is the sole UK supplier for naval nuclear propulsion plants, making Derby and Raynesway capacity critical to Dreadnought and SSN-AUKUS schedules. Capital implication: Civil Aerospace produced 62% of the three divisions' H1 2026 underlying operating profit. Unity and SMR are strategically important, but they do not replace the Civil aftermarket as the main source of group earnings and cash.
Competition is lane-specific. Rolls-Royce does not fight a single peer across the whole portfolio.
Three moats, different durability.
Naval nuclear propulsion is a sovereign sole-source position. Rolls-Royce designs, supplies and supports the nuclear propulsion plants for the Royal Navy's submarine fleet. Unity has an announced value of approximately £9bn over eight years and includes initial SSN-AUKUS work. The company has not disclosed how much of Unity is funded backlog at a given date. Switching would require long lead times, nuclear licensing and specialised skills. The same advantages create concentration in Derby, Raynesway and the Office for Nuclear Regulation (ONR) approval path.
Civil aftermarket is an installed-base advantage. Once a Trent is in service, long-term agreements, shop visits and spare parts can generate revenue for decades. The commercial reset improved contract economics. Time-on-wing improvements, with management targeting more than 100% durability improvement by end-2027, can reduce maintenance cost per flying hour and improve LTSA margins. The same concentration exposes cash flow to widebody traffic and fleet-utilisation shocks.
F-35B LiftSystem and EJ200 are franchise positions, not monopolies. The LiftSystem has no production competitor on STOVL fighters. EJ200 lives and dies with Typhoon export. F130 on B-52 is a large but finite re-engine. GCAP is the next combat-air bet and is still a programme envelope. Defence’s £17.5 billion backlog is the measurable version of these franchises. It is more than three years of Defence revenue. It is not a Civil-style flying-hour machine.
Power Systems has strong application positions through mtu in data centres, marine power and European land systems, but it faces several engine and generator competitors. SMR remains an execution-stage growth option rather than a proven construction franchise. Holdings' 57.8% associate interest means development risk and potential returns are shared with other shareholders, while SMR revenue is not consolidated.
FY 2025: Civil Aerospace 52% of underlying revenue at £10.382bn, Defence 24% at £4.770bn and Power Systems 24% at £4.892bn. H1 2026: Civil 55%, Defence 22% and Power Systems 23%. Defence aftermarket and submarines create government-customer concentration. Civil LTSAs create airline-utilisation and maintenance concentration. Rolls-Royce SMR is a 57.8% associate and is not a fourth reporting segment. The UK Special Share remains a control constraint.
Defense Briefing is an independent intelligence desk. This profile is not investment advice, not a research report under FCA or SEC rules and not a recommendation to buy, sell or hold any security. Figures are traced to primary issuer and government documents listed below. Where a value is estimated it is labelled. Where a value is not disclosed it is stated as such.