
Applied completed its June 2026 initial public offering with approximately 34.2M primary shares sold at $20.00. Gross proceeds were $683.0M and net primary proceeds were approximately $635.6M after underwriting discounts, commissions and offering expenses.
The company used approximately $570.1M of IPO proceeds to repay $565.0M of term-loan principal plus accrued interest and another $56.1M to repay all then-outstanding revolver borrowings. At 30-JUN-2026, term-loan principal was $405.8M, cash was $18.1M and $125.0M remained available on the revolver.
Q2 GAAP results were heavily distorted by the IPO. The quarter included $110.1M of share-based compensation expense, which was a major driver of the $154.0M net loss. Adjusted EBITDA was $36.4M, but that non-GAAP measure excludes share-based compensation, transaction costs, interest, taxes, depreciation and amortization.
TTM revenue, gross profit and net loss are Defense Briefing calculations using FY2025 plus H1 2026 minus H1 2025. TTM gross profit is $147.2M, equal to a 25.6% margin. EPS is not presented as a TTM figure because the IPO, stock split and changing weighted-average share base make a simple additive calculation misleading. Official Q2 diluted EPS was -$1.04 and H1 diluted EPS was -$1.20. N/M means not meaningful.
Applied Aerospace & Defense designs, engineers, manufactures, tests and sustains complex hardware that sits inside spacecraft, launch vehicles, military aircraft, missiles, radar systems and communications platforms. It generally operates below the platform-prime level. Applied supplies qualified subsystems and specialized production processes rather than bidding to lead the complete aircraft, spacecraft or weapon program.
The company reports three markets: Space and Launch Systems, Defense Aviation and Airborne Systems and Command, Control, Communications, Computers, Cyber, Intelligence, Surveillance and Reconnaissance and Precision Strike Systems, abbreviated as C5ISR and Precision Strike Systems. Its work spans early design and prototyping through qualification, serial production, repair and aftermarket sustainment.
Applied's strategic value comes from manufacturing processes that are expensive to recreate, slow to qualify and difficult to move once embedded in a platform. In fiscal 2025, 87% of revenue came from sole-source or single-source positions, 89% involved intellectual-property-enabled processes and the average customer relationship was 39 years.
Public company disclosures identify long-running supplier relationships or awards involving RTX's Raytheon business, Lockheed Martin and Sikorsky, Northrop Grumman and Boeing. Applied does not disclose customer-by-customer revenue or a prime-contractor backlog split.
Launch-vehicle structures, payload-deployment hardware, spacecraft assemblies, solar-array structures, sunshades, thermal structures, solar sails, passive deorbit systems, radar and communications antennas, radio-frequency structures, propellant tanks and reusable landing-system components.
Program disclosures include advanced-material support for Firefly Aerospace's Blue Ghost lunar lander and deployable-space work for a NOAA solar-sail mission. Individual supplier contract values were not publicly disclosed.
Flight-control surfaces, fuselage assemblies, fuel tanks, aerial-refueling structures, landing-gear assemblies, arresting-hook assemblies, rotor hubs, mechanical transmissions, engine shafts, intelligence, surveillance and reconnaissance sensor mounts and aftermarket repair or overhaul.
Radomes, radio-frequency-transparent enclosures, networked sensing hardware, communications structures, radio-frequency test services, integrated air and missile-defense components, missile bodies, launch assemblies, solid-rocket motor cases, propulsion structures and survivability enclosures.
Design for manufacturability, structural analysis, tooling, prototyping, composite and metallic fabrication, complex machining, assembly, nondestructive inspection, three-dimensional metrology, thermal-cycle testing, structural-load testing, configuration management and lifecycle sustainment.
Applied manufactured a 17,792-square-foot deployable solar sail for a National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration mission. Its former NeXolve business supplied proprietary polymer materials for Firefly Aerospace's Blue Ghost Mission 1 lunar lander, while the former Applied Aerospace Structures business has disclosed composite-structure work supporting Boeing's KC-46A tanker.
These are verified supplier or mission milestones. They are not presented as direct government contract awards because the public disclosures do not identify a standalone Applied contract vehicle, funded amount or ceiling.
Flow forming, complex composite-tube manufacturing, radio-frequency-transparent composites, spin forming, near-net-shape metal forming, deep-hole boring and large clean-room integration are central to the supplier moat.
| Date | Awarding Body | Program / Scope | Value | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 04-MAY-2026 | U.S. Army Contracting Command, Redstone Arsenal | AH-64 Apache main rotor head and swashplate controls through PCX Aerostructures; firm-fixed-price contract W58RGZ-26-D-0045; one bid received; estimated completion 04-MAY-2031. | $105.048M contract value Funding and work locations set with each order | Awarded |
| Date | Customer / Program | Applied Role | Disclosed Value | Classification |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 20-MAY-2026 | NOAA solar-sail mission | Built a record-setting deployable solar sail using Applied's space-structure and advanced-material capabilities. | Not publicly disclosed | Supplier position |
| 15-APR-2025 | Firefly Aerospace Blue Ghost | Supplied advanced materials intended to repel abrasive lunar dust on the Blue Ghost lunar lander. | Not publicly disclosed | Supplier position |
| 30-APR-2024 | Boeing KC-46A | Applied predecessor business disclosed supplier support for the KC-46A aerial-refueling program. | Not publicly disclosed | Supplier position |
The $105.048M AH-64 figure is the announced firm-fixed-price contract value, not cash obligated at award. The Department of Defense notice states that funding and work locations will be determined with each order. The other entries are disclosed supplier or program positions and are not presented as direct federal contract awards. Applied's public government-contract record understates total government exposure because a large share of work arrives through prime-contractor subcontracts and purchase orders. Applied does not disclose a defense-only backlog or a contract-by-contract backlog schedule.
Government-linked work remains the economic base. Approximately 83% of fiscal 2025 revenue came from U.S. government and other government contracts, either directly or through prime contractors. Applied also benefits from a mixed lifecycle model: development and production create growth while repair, overhaul and sustainment provide recurring demand from installed platforms.
| Market | Q2 2026 Revenue | Q2 2025 Revenue | Q2 YoY Growth | H1 2026 Revenue |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Space and Launch Systems | $38.8M | $24.5M | +58.5% | $73.9M |
| Defense Aviation and Airborne Systems | $78.9M | $75.3M | +4.8% | $158.4M |
| C5ISR and Precision Strike Systems | $49.6M | $13.7M | +261.6% | $69.5M |
| Total | $167.3M | $113.5M | +47.4% | $301.7M |
Q2 growth was broad but not purely organic. Applied said revenue excluding acquisitions completed during 2026 increased $22.5M, or 19.8%, year over year. C5ISR and Precision Strike produced the sharpest reported increase as integrated air and missile defense, radar, missile and munition demand expanded. Space and Launch rose with launch cadence and proliferated-constellation activity. Defense Aviation grew more slowly but retained support from aftermarket demand and new production.
Backlog reached $1.13B at 30-JUN-2026, up $258.7M from year-end. Applied attributed approximately $178.5M of that increase to the Consolidated Boring acquisition, with the balance primarily reflecting new orders in excess of billings. The company separately reported $947.6M of remaining performance obligations. Backlog and remaining performance obligations are different measures and neither is a guarantee of future revenue.
Management's first formal public-company outlook calls for $670M to $690M of fiscal 2026 revenue and $150M to $155M of non-GAAP Adjusted EBITDA. The midpoint implies a substantial step-up from fiscal 2025, but the quality of that growth will depend on acquisition mix, production ramps, fixed-price execution and working-capital conversion.
For national security, the relevant issue is capacity rather than branding. Missile, air-defense and space programs only benefit from a larger supplier base if Applied can turn backlog into qualified hardware on schedule. For capital, the same production ramp determines whether revenue growth converts into cash after acquisitions, interest, capital spending and working-capital investment.
Applied has crossed the line from acquisition story to execution story. The $1.13B backlog, 19.8% Q2 growth excluding 2026 acquisitions and formal $670M-$690M revenue guide show real demand. The next test is whether the combined factory network can turn that demand into cash while absorbing acquisitions, funding approximately $50M of capital spending and protecting fixed-price margins.
Management expects fiscal 2026 revenue of $670M to $690M and non-GAAP Adjusted EBITDA of $150M to $155M. The outlook is supported by space-launch cadence, missile and munition rearmament, integrated air and missile defense, radar demand, rotorcraft aftermarket activity and several production ramps. Applied does not provide forward GAAP net-income or EPS guidance, which limits clean valuation comparisons after a quarter dominated by IPO-related share-based compensation and transaction costs.
Backlog provides visibility but not certainty. At 30-JUN-2026, total contract backlog was $1.13B and remaining performance obligations were $947.6M. Applied expects 39% of RPO to be recognized during the rest of 2026, 49% in 2027 and 12% later. Customers may still terminate, cancel or adjust orders under contract terms, so neither backlog nor RPO should be treated as guaranteed revenue.
The IPO materially reduced leverage. Term-loan principal was $405.8M at quarter-end and the revolver had $125.0M of unused capacity. The less comfortable number is cash conversion. Applied used $82.1M of operating cash during H1 2026, partly because contract assets and inventory grew by about $36.4M as the company invested ahead of deliveries and partly because acquisition and IPO transaction costs increased. That is a normal risk for a fast-growing manufacturer, but it becomes a problem if production ramps keep consuming working capital without corresponding collections.
For national security, Applied matters because qualified manufacturing is itself a constraint. A prime contractor can have funded demand and still miss schedule if critical structures, missile bodies, rotorcraft parts or deployable-space hardware cannot be produced fast enough. Applied's 11-site footprint gives customers another scaled source across several bottleneck processes. For capital, the same footprint must now behave like one operating system rather than a portfolio of acquisitions.
Applied competes in a fragmented supplier market. No single peer matches the full portfolio, so the relevant comparison changes by manufacturing process, qualification record and platform.
Named companies are representative competitors or substitutes in specific lanes. They do not all compete with Applied across its complete product portfolio.
Applied's moat is qualification plus process depth. Aerospace and defense customers do not casually move flight-critical hardware between suppliers. A new source must reproduce tooling, materials, process controls, test evidence, quality systems and program documentation before it can ship qualified parts. That creates switching cost once Applied is embedded in a platform.
The moat remains execution-dependent. A qualified position protects revenue only while Applied meets cost, quality and schedule requirements. Fixed-price contracts can turn a valuable sole-source position into a margin problem if labor, material or ramp costs exceed assumptions.
Approximately 83% of fiscal 2025 revenue was government-linked. Applied reported $1.13B of total backlog at 30-JUN-2026 but no defense-only subtotal. The company also disclosed $947.6M of remaining performance obligations. AA&D Holdings reported a 73.5% direct stake on 13-AUG-2026, preserving sponsor control after the July share distribution.
No active corporate social account was verifiable from the company or investor-relations sites as of 24-AUG-2026. Unverified lookalike, predecessor and regional accounts are omitted.
| Filed | Form | Description | Link |
|---|---|---|---|
| 13-AUG-2026 | Schedule 13G | AA&D Holdings reported 126,786,731 shares, or 73.5%, after giving effect to the July pro rata distribution. | View → |
| 12-AUG-2026 | 10-Q | Quarter ended 30-JUN-2026: Q2 financial statements, backlog, liquidity, debt, acquisitions, ownership and risk disclosures. | View → |
| 12-AUG-2026 | 8-K | Second-quarter earnings release and related financial-results disclosure. | View → |
| 10-AUG-2026 | 8-K | Appointment of Chris Rogers as President and Chief Strategy Officer. | View → |
| 17-JUL-2026 | 4 | AA&D Holdings pro rata distribution of 11,456,787 shares for no consideration. | View → |
| 04-JUN-2026 | 424B4 | Final prospectus for the AADX initial public offering, including business, financial, ownership and risk disclosures. | View → |
| 04-JUN-2026 | 8-K | IPO closing, governance agreements and post-offering corporate documents. | View → |
| Date | Insider / Role | Type | Shares | Price | Reported Effect |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 15-JUL-2026 | AA&D Holdings, LP · 10% owner | Pro rata distribution | 11,456,787 | $0 | Direct holding fell to 126,786,731 shares; the filing describes a distribution, not an open-market sale. |
| 04-JUN-2026 | Susan Lynch · Director | Directed-share purchase | 8,000 | $20.00 | $160,000 |
| 04-JUN-2026 | Jeff McRae · Chief Financial Officer | Directed-share purchase | 25,000 | $20.00 | $500,000 |
| 04-JUN-2026 | James Katzman · Director | Directed-share purchase | 25,000 | $20.00 | $500,000 |
| 04-JUN-2026 | James Katzman · Director | RSU award | 4,250 | $20 ref. | Vests on the first anniversary or before the next annual meeting, if earlier, subject to service. |
| 04-JUN-2026 | Scott Goldstein · Director | Directed-share purchase | 500 | $20.00 | $10,000 |
| 04-JUN-2026 | Scott Goldstein · Director | RSU award | 4,250 | $20 ref. | Vests on the first anniversary or before the next annual meeting, if earlier, subject to service. |
No open-market insider sale was identified through 24-AUG-2026. The July transaction was a no-consideration pro rata distribution, not a sale.
The public company is new, but the operating businesses are not. Applied was incorporated in Delaware as GB Eagle Topco, Inc. on 07-OCT-2022. Greenbriar Equity Group used the entity to combine established aerospace and defense manufacturers into a broader subsystem supplier. The legal parent changed its name to Applied Aerospace & Defense, Inc. on 14-NOV-2025.
| Date | Corporate Development | Consideration and Strategic Effect |
|---|---|---|
| 01-OCT-2024 | Acquired Innovative Composite Engineering LLC | Approximately $47.0M of consideration transferred, including contingent and equity components. Added carbon-fiber processing and complex lightweight composite structures. |
| 04-MAR-2025 | Acquired NeXolve Holdings LLC | $20.688M of total consideration, including $5.0M of contingent consideration and $2.5M of parent equity. Added deployable-space systems, solar-sail technology and advanced polymers. |
| 14-NOV-2025 | Combined Applied Aerospace Structures Corporation and PCX Aerostructures under common control | Created the present operating platform across space, aviation and precision-strike manufacturing. No third-party transaction value was disclosed for the common-control combination. |
| 16-JAN-2026 | Acquired Vestigo Aerospace | Q2 purchase accounting records $0.540M of cash consideration transferred. Added Spinnaker drag sails for passive end-of-life satellite deorbiting. Purchase accounting remains preliminary. |
| 02-MAR-2026 | Acquired Consolidated Boring Inc. | The acquisition agreement used a $425M base purchase price. Q2 purchase accounting records $374.770M of consideration transferred, including $70.0M of parent equity. CBI added deep-hole boring and precision-strike hardware capacity and contributed $43.2M of revenue from 02-MAR through 30-JUN-2026. Purchase accounting remains preliminary. |
| 02-MAR-2026 | Acquired Ultracor | $7.154M of cash consideration transferred. Added patented honeycomb-core materials and additional vertical integration in composite structures. Purchase accounting remains preliminary. |
| 02-JUN-2026 | Priced initial public offering | 32.5M primary shares priced at $20.00. Shares began trading on the New York Stock Exchange under AADX on 03-JUN-2026. |
| JUN-2026 | Underwriters exercised part of their additional-share option | Applied ultimately sold approximately 34.2M primary shares. Gross proceeds reached $683.0M and net primary proceeds were approximately $635.6M. |
| 15-JUL-2026 | AA&D Holdings distributed 11,456,787 shares to limited partners for no consideration | The sponsor vehicle's direct holding fell to 126,786,731 shares. A later Schedule 13G reported 126,786,731 shares, or 73.5%. |
Applied disclosed approximately 80% sponsor ownership at 30-JUN-2026. After the 15-JUL-2026 pro rata distribution, AA&D Holdings reported 126,786,731 shares, or 73.5%, on a Schedule 13G filed 13-AUG-2026. The sponsor stake still leaves Applied within the NYSE controlled-company regime.
Applied's consolidation strategy sits inside a broader defense-industrial pattern. Defense Briefing's history of Pentagon prime consolidation explains why a scaled mid-tier manufacturer can gain capacity, qualification depth and bargaining power without becoming a platform prime.